The blog has been silent for awhile but I’ve been doing some quality gaming in the mean time. The word dropped yesterday that WoTC is releasing the next edition of Dungeons & Dragons and I’ve been fortunate enough to have playtested some of it. I’ve played three sessions so far and while I can’t speak about the mechanics, there’s still plenty to tell.

The group that I’m playing with is comprised of experienced players. I think I’m the newest to D&D in the group and I’ve been playing since the late 90’s. One member of the group has played every edition of D&D ever published and the rest have varying amounts of experience somewhere in between. Suffice to say, we all love D&D and take this opportunity to playtest D&Dnext seriously. Before, during and after each sessions there’s lots of discussion on what we think worked, what didn’t work, what’s awesome and should stay, and what sucks and should go. Of course we don’t all agree on everything but I think we’ve made some positive influence through the playtest.

The game feels different than 4th edition, but I think anyone would expect that. I haven’t played the older editions of D&D (got started late with AD&D 2nd ed) but I own a number of older manuals, including the Basic Set and the three core AD&D books released in 78/79. From reading through them and following a number of OSR blogs I think I’ve got an accurate idea of what those older editions felt like in play. The few sessions of D&Dnext that I’ve played have felt more like what I imagine those games to be, but in a way that isn’t a direct clone. Without delving into mechanics its hard to fully explain, but I’d advise those in the OSR community who may be wary of D&Dnext to at least approach it with an open eye.

One of the key elements that I think helped to give it that older edition feel was how the DM ran the game and I think that’s going to be a big part of D&Dnext, perhaps moreso than the previous two editions. Robert Schwalb has said on his blog that “…our primary goal is to produce a rules set that speaks to every incarnation of D&D.” I think that what they’ve got right now will do a good job of that. The player mentioned above that has played all the editions of D&D has stated before that 4th edition is his favorite of them, so I was interested to see how he reacted to this game. At my first session he was a little hung up on making the transition from 4e to D&Dnext and I think the feeling was mutual around the table. I play with the same group in a 4e Essentials game and we’ve played Heroic and Epic, so there’s a lot of 4e crunch in our heads. The experience of sitting down and playing D&D in a different way required some change but I think everyone has adapted well and is enjoying the game.

There’s a lot of speculation going around about what this game will actually be. Don’t Panic. From my experience it’s still D&D. There’s a great opportunity here to make one of the best editions of the game and I can’t wait to play again.

